PCMag

Wanting to reset your Mac to its factory settings? Here’s how to clean information from your computer system and begin over once again.

By Jason Cohen

Mac computer systems are normally dependable. However just like any computer system, in some cases things fail. Prior to you invest huge on a brand-new Mac, however, attempt a factory reset, which cleans your computer system and re-installs a tidy variation of macOS.

A factory reset is likewise the very best method to prepare your old computer system for a brand-new owner to ensure no remaining information falls under the incorrect hands. Whatever the factor, here’s how to clean whatever and go back to square one with a factory reset.

First, reboot your computer system. The most simple method is to hold down the power button up until a dialog box appears, then select the Restart alternative. Otherwise, you can pick the Apple icon in the top-left corner of the screen and select Restart.

You can likewise utilize the keyboard faster way Control + Command + Eject (or power button) if your computer system is frozen and you can’t depend on macOS to finish the job.

Once the computer system switches off, hold Command + R up until the Apple logo design appears. Launch the secrets and permit the Mac to boot up. This might spend some time to load, so be client.

Rather of opening to your desktop as regular, your Mac will boot into Healing Mode. You will require to select the proper user profile and go into the password prior to acquiring complete control. In the macOS Utilities windows, you now have the alternative to bring back from a Time Device backup, set up a brand-new copy of macOS, gain access to assistance documents, fix a broken disk, or eliminate all information.

If you’re seeking to eliminate whatever and go back to square one, select Disk Energy.

Select your start-up disk under the Internal heading, then click Remove at the top of the Disk Energies window. A dialog box will turn up. Modification the Format to Mac OS Extended (Journaled), then click Erase. As soon as the procedure is total, go to the Disk Energies menu in the upper-left corner and select Quit Disk Energy.

Understand that when this procedure is done, you will no longer have the ability to recuperate any erased information that was left on the drive. If you believe you might still require what is on your hard disk drive, we recommend you to initially back it up onto an external hard disk drive or sync essential files to iCloud.

Your next action need to be to re-install macOS onto the computer system. Back at the macOS Utilities screen, click Reinstall macOS and follow the directions to re-install a tidy variation of the os. If you prepare to offer the computer system, you can avoid this action and let the brand-new owner set up macOS.

If you decided to conserve your files through a Time Device backup, you can now bring back those files through the macOS Utilities screen. Click Bring Back From Time Device Backup, then pick the proper backup from the list to re-install your conserved files.

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here